you're reading...
Mommyhood

Separation Anxiety

One of the concerns of working moms is dealing with separation anxieties with their kids. Lots of articles have been written about how to cope with this already. And several moms have shared the same sentiments.

Seeing my baby cry at the door for being left behind just consumes me with so much guilt that makes me want to quit my job at that instant, or sometimes makes me envious of those stay-at-home moms who don’t have to deal with separation anxieties every workday of the week.

However, I feel quite lucky that this isn’t much of an ordeal now with my son. As young as 18 months, Zeke sorts of understands now that mommy and daddy needs to go somewhere while he stays at home to play. It always surprises me, and makes me so proud of my son when he bids his sweetest “bye bye” and kisses as he sees me off at the door on my way to work. He even closes the door without hesitations now when i tell him to do so. My, has he really grown so fast? ( But this doesn’t mean I no longer feel guilty about choosing to be a working mother. But that’s a totally different topic.)

I guess each baby really develops in different ways. The deal with separation anxiety? What worked for me is constantly talking to my son, explaining mommy has to go to work.. because at his own pace, he will one day just get it.

20110627-093412.jpg

This photo was taken two or three months ago where we definitely still had issues on separation anxiety.

 

 

About inbetweencoffeecups

There's one quote about life that i've stumbled upon, and it goes .. "β€œDon’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” - Howard Thurman This blog will be about things that makes me alive, from simple pleasures like drinking a cup of my favorite coffee, to more meaningful ones like spending a lazy yet fun afternoon with the greatest loves of my life: my husband and my son :) .. and of course, there'll be lots of other things that makes this life just simply beautiful, and i would try not to miss blogging about that.. who knows, i'll discover new hobbies, and new passions in between.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

  1. waaaah, ang laki na ni Zeke, Ate Liz πŸ™‚

    Posted by jackie | 6 July 2011, 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Past Cups Filled

